Santa Barbara Hotels
Santa Barbara Restaurants
Santa Barbara Real Estate
 Santa Barbara > Restaurants > Paloma Restaurant and Tequila Bar
  
 List your business

Paloma Restaurant and Tequila Bar
5764 Calle Real, Goleta
Phone: (805) 681-0766


Reviews by the General Public

Best Mexican in Goleta , 12/6/2014
Reviewer: Charlotte from Goleta
Everytime I come to Paloma I feel like the service and food is excellent. Three of us shared the steak and shrimp fajitas and homemade tortillas and salsa. It was really delicious and not greasy (which is usually the case at other places). We also had these insane pineapple/Jalepeno and strong Margaritas wow!! My new favorite drink if all time. We had three different waiters checking in with us, asking if we needed anything and how nice it was to see us again. Always a pleasure at Paloma.


oily fish tacos, 10/27/2014
Reviewer: Gregg from Santa Barbara, CA
Back when this was called Rudy's, they had the most delectable fish tacos: very lightly breaded and fried, a little coleslaw, and a dab of sauce and avocado. But now, the tacos are an oily mess. The slaw they put in was completely covered in oil, so much oil that it dissolved the breading off the fish. If you were to pick up a taco and squeeze it, oil would dribble out. Aargh! However, I must admit that they included a nice salad with fruit on it and rice sprinkled with a little crumbly cheese.


WISH I LIVED IN THE AREA..., 5/10/2014
Reviewer: DAVE C from Merced CA
We came down for the weekend from Merced, and was looking for Mexican food. What we got was totally unexpected!!! The Margaritas were the best I've had, the food was exceptional and the service was great. I would definitely eat heae again and would recommend it to all my friends and family


WONDERFUL FOOD - FUN FUN FUN !!, 3/12/2014
Reviewer: David from Santa Barbara, CA
We went here for the first time last night for a Birthday Party and had a wonderful experience. The FOOD was OUTSTANDING and the Watermellon Magies were oh so tasty. The best Chips and Salsa... Keep up the great work Paloma !!


Service a bit slow but the food is really good, 2/21/2014
Reviewer: Glenn from Buellton
Reminds me of Los Agaves entries and they do have older Rudy's type stuff also. Nice vibe to the place, outdoor seating also. Definitely worth a visit. Service was nice but a bit slow. Full bar nice touch. I think they will do well.


Great food, great service!, 1/22/2014
Reviewer: Eric from Santa Barbara, CA
I've been to Paloma now 3 or 4 times and have enjoyed my meals immensely. The guy below that says its 100% the same as Rudy's apparently can't read a menu. While they do offer tacos and burritos (also available on the Rudy's menu) they have mainly specialty items that are rarely seen at most Mexican eateries. The servers have all gone out of their way to provide excellent service every time I've eaten here so reviewers claiming the service was rude are suspicious to me. I'll be back!


This is basically Rudy's, with a liquor license, 1/14/2014
Reviewer: David from Santa Barbara, CA
I am a big fan of Rudy's. I also like the "fancy" Mexican places downtown like Los Arroyos and Los Agaves, so when I found that the owner's of Rudy's decided to make the jump to "fancy" Mexican, I was onboard. I gave it a shot this past weekend and was disappointed. The service was lackluster and downright rude at times. We were asked for our drink order and after my gf asked for water, the waiter just left. He did it again when he took half our order. We were not given straws, when they clearly hand them out (he had a bundle in his waist). Service aside, the food was just ok. Actually it was 100% the same as Rudy's. Why bother making the name and image change. I thought I'd get "gourmet" Mexican food but instead I got the same stuff. That's not bad mind, you, but it's like putting a bullseye sign in front of K-Mart and calling it a Target.


Best Mexican restsurant in town, 1/13/2014
Reviewer: Charlotte from Goleta
Paloma is by far the best Mexican restaurant in town. The food is very fresh and authentic. I had the steak Tapequena and a cheese a Enchilada. Both were amazing. Best steak I've had in a restaurant, hands down. Marinated, seasoned and grilled to perfection. The tomatillo/ avocado salsa and guacamole are fantastic. The new esthetic and patio really adds to the dining experience. Rudy makes a wicked Margarita and is not only the perfect host but one if the nicest guys you'll ever meet. No wonder why his staff is so happy and efficient. Our favorite restaurant in town!


Great First Visit, 1/10/2014
Reviewer: Sharon from Santa Barbara, CA
Restaurant was packed so we waited about 15 minutes for a table. Ordered Chicken Fajitas and Ensalada Paloma (large green salad with fruit). Both were delicious. They serve the standard chips and 2 tasty salsas plus sliced jicama & cucumbers with lime, great for those who like to avoid all those chip carbs. Well staffed with friendly people. Suggest they dim the lights a bit & use the candles on the tables in the evening. We'll be back.


Great Food in Goleta
Reviewer: Peter Reveles from Santa Barbara, CA
My wife and I decided to try this place after reading the great review in the Scene portion of the newspress. We drove up from Carpinteria to see what the hype was all about. First of all, the place looks beautiful. Kind of up upscale look but with a casual feel. We tried the enchiladas paloma and the chile nogada which were the pictures in the newspaper article. Let me tell you, some of the best mexican food i've tried. Very deep flavors that with great presentation. The best part of the meal was the value. I didn't see any item on the dinner menu over $15 with the exception of the specials. The Paloma cocktail was very balanced and refreshing. Service was very friendly and efficient even though the place was packed. I wished we lived closer to Goleta to come more often but we will make our trek back up to Goleta very soon to try other items on the menu.


Confused
Reviewer: Tandris from Santa Barbara, CA
Myself and two co-workers dined here today. We waited a few weeks from opening, just to play it safe, but the the restaurant was very confusing. It has an open floor plan, with what seems like a hosted seating arrangement. However, there was nobody there to seat us. We placed our order right away and although I trusted our server was capable of taking our order without writing it down, not to my surprise, it came out wrong. We didn't receive any utensils or napkins and we sat for quite some time with empty drinks, wondering if it would be rude to refill them ourselves since the soda machine was accesible to the restaurant. We just were not sure what the appropriate etiquette was. The food was not great. Very little flavor in the cheese enchiladas or even the chicken mole enchiladas. The food was mediocre at best. Then... When our bill came, we received a large party fee (there were 3 of us). When I asked our server about this, he seemed confused as to why it was there and removed it from the bill, but when the female server came over and he explained to her what we had "caught" she rolled her eyes and acted like we were rude for pointing it out... Very uncomfortable for us.


Good service and good food
Reviewer: Tiffany from Goleta
I had the steak fajitas and my boyfriend had the chicken enchiladas with green sauce. Both were very good. I had a margarita and it was well made (I am very picky) but on the small side. The happy hour menu looked good. Will be back to try it. The service was attentive and overall a good experience.


Taco Tuesday
Reviewer: Charlotte from Goleta
Tacos were yummy as usual, Margaritas were really good and strong made with fresh juice. Place was packed! But the place ran smoothly. So glad this place is a success! Probably the friendliest staff I've ever come across in a restsurant.


Have you eaten here? Write a review of this location!  Terms of Service