Santa Barbara Hotels
Santa Barbara Restaurants
Santa Barbara Real Estate
 Santa Barbara > Restaurants > Mesa Verde
  
 List your business

Mesa Verde
1919 Cliff Dr, Santa Barbara
Phone:


Reviews by the General Public

I want everything on the menu!, 9/22/2014
Reviewer: Kathy from Santa Barbara, CA
I had lunch at Mesa Verde for the first time with three other friends. We all loved the food. For the first time in a long time, I didn't hunt for something that I could eat on the menu. Every item looked tempting. I had the Polenta Bowl which was spiced just right and very filling. The drinks menu had many good selections, also. We liked the decor. There was a nice patio dining area. The prices were in line with fresh & nutritious. Service was slow but cheerful. This is my new favorite restaurant.


now the best vegetarian in town, 8/25/2014
Reviewer: Nora from Santa Barbara, CA
Really excellent modern food: the dishes (e.g. tacos) are elaborate and perfectly cooked, which is exactly what one wants in a restaurant--to experience food you wouldn't take the time (or know how) to cook yourself. Finally, a top-shelf vegetarian restaurant in town. Finally!


Wonderful flavor, 8/14/2014
Reviewer: Pat from Santa Barbara, CA
The building has been converted into a beautiful place to eat. The food was out of this world, so tasty.


Fantastic food, 8/5/2014
Reviewer: Tama from Santa Barbara, CA
Had an amazing lunch at Mesa Verde today--the herbed roasted carrots were out-of-this-world and the gluten-free pizza a treat as I usually have to forgo pizza at restaurants. The owner was super nice and brought me a free glass of wine. Will definitely be back!


Tasty and a refreshing new Mesa dining option, 8/4/2014
Reviewer: Stephen from Santa Barbara, CA
Started with a plate of black bean and broccoli tacos. Roasted almond, red onion and peppers with olive oil drizzled on a plank. Tasty and nicely prepared. Entree was the fig and caramelized onion flatbread pizza. A bit sweet but satisfying with a nice blend of hummus, thyme, chili flake and honey. Yum! Only complaint: make the draft beers a bit more generous. $6 for a Mason jar is a little steep and doesn't last all the way through the meal. Keep expanding the menu and we'll come back.


Fabulous, 8/3/2014
Reviewer: Linda from Santa Barbara, CA
What a great surprise we had when we dined here on Sat night! not being vegetarians, we were highly suspicious as most other vege places are boring and bland.. This was amazing! Carrots, hummus and mushroom tacos to start ....tasty and excting flavors...followed by hummus,fig and cheese pizza...and delicious desserts! 5 very happy diners!! Service was perfect as is the renovation..will definitely be back!


Awful food , 7/30/2014
Reviewer: Alan from Santa Barbara, CA
We ordered 3 dishes. All were Not edible. The prices are high. The veggie Bergers were tasteless mush. The mushroom tacos were topped with a sickening sauce and the pizza was topped with tasteless goop.


Finally awesome food, 7/17/2014
Reviewer: claire from Santa Barbara, CA
We went to this place 3 times already. Guess what we love it. I had the tagine so good , my husband had the burger was delicious.I am a very good French cook and I was delighted to be surprised by the burst of flavors as well as the creativity in their dishes.Thank you so much Mesa Verde and please surprise us with more new item anytime;)))


Flavorful and beautiful, 7/11/2014
Reviewer: Geri from Santa Barbara, CA
Owner actually walked out to parking lot and escorted me in, with smile and a welcome. The decor is up cycled wood, industrial lighting and manages to be warm and interesting. The wait staff were friendly and checked in on us several times. Owner came to table and asked for our patience as it was there opening week- he was so gracious- and as it turned out we were served quickly. Fig/hummus/ Carmelized onion flatbread pizza was so full of flavor! Spring empanadas with lemon creme and grilled asparagus-yum! Tacos bursting with flavor. I was delighted to find plant based foods that had complexity in texture and taste- not your typical cardboard vegetarian food. Thrilled to have them in our neighborhood and will become a regular.


Unique & Yummy!, 7/10/2014
Reviewer: Michelle from Santa Barbara, CA
My son and I took a gamble and dined here on their 3rd day in business. I am vegan (ethical reasons), and my son has celiac disease so has to be gluten free. Thus, when we dine out together, we are rather limited as to where we can eat. We shared 3 things: sunchoke in fava bean puree, the black bean, walnut, & kale burger, and the polenta with garbanzos, okra, and kale. Everything was very tasty and very filling. The combinations and seasonings were different from what we have had before, and we each said we'd happily order any of those items again. They offer a gluten free flatbread, but were out of it that day. Two desserts on the menu, both tarts. I hope they add some gluten free desserts eventually. Service was friendly and helpful but a bit slow, likely due to it being their first week. We have leftovers of sunchoke and polenta to enjoy today, and we will definitely return to Mesa Verde!


Have you eaten here? Write a review of this location!  Terms of Service