Santa Barbara > Restaurants > Spoon
  
 
Due Lune Cucina

Spoon
No longer in business
Opened: 2008-04 Closed: 2018-12

1222 State St, Santa Barbara
Phone: (805) 962-1838


Reviews by the General Public

SO delicious!, 3/3/2017
Reviewer: Bianka S. from Huntington Beach, CA
I live in Orange County.. for the past 5 years, every time my husband and I drive north for a trip (sometimes to San Francisco, sometimes to Santa Barbara itself) we ALWAYS pull off the highway to make a stop at Spoon. We LOVE the Rose flavor!!! I've never had anything like it. Combine the Rose with some Chocolate and you will be in heaven! LOVE this place!


Pear Gelato gets my vote, 1/12/2011
Reviewer: Tammy from SB from Santa Barbara, CA
Tuesday was my first time in Spoon. I tried several flavors and I do have to say the my top three were the pear, pink grapefruit and the mixed berry- all delicious! The lady at the counter was very helpful and friendly. I had purchased 6 pints for a company meeting- everybody loved the gelato. I will definitely return to Spoon!


I must be back in Como!, 11/16/2009
Reviewer: Joan from Santa Barbara, CA
This gelato is on par with the delicious gelato we had in Como, Italy. The flavors are amazing; the richest chocolate, divine coconut, etc. The owner has served us many times, and has proudly shared how her product is handmade by a young Italian guy in Westlake (or near there). She told us that they meet several times per week to deliver the freshly made product. They experiment with new flavors and have come up with some interesting ones... Rose, for example! First dine at Trattoria Vittoria, just halfway around the corner on Victoria Street, then stroll over for a dessert at Spoon. Expensive, yes, but it's a cheap trip to Italy! Well worth it. It's the best!


Exciting new chocolate experience, 10/29/2009
Reviewer: Britt from Santa Barbara, CA
My friend introduced me to Spoon last night and I fell in love with the pepper rum chocolate gelato. My only reservation would the robust plastic cups they use. Please, recycle or reuse your cup.


Wonderful, 10/15/2009
Reviewer: Arlene from Santa Barbara, CA
Love the product - it is all natural products-the sorbeto is my favorite. And the service has always been helpful; try as many as you want, always. I have been here 20+ times (I work near by) and am never dissapinted.


Don't waste your money, 10/14/2009
Reviewer: jinelle from Santa Barbara, CA
I tried it again after seeing a string of good reviews thinking maybe it was too new to be at its best when I last tried it and was exceedingly unhappy but always like to boost new businesses.

Don't waste your money. The product is horrible, full of air and industrial off flavors. And costs you $4.00 for a single scoop of this insult. What is the franchise behind this faux stuff giving gelato a bad name?

Go up the street and get a real dessert with real ingredients at Renauds, just one block north if you have a dessert craving. Superb. Sorry, like I say, I hate seeing an earnest business attempt fail but this product is really bad. Get a different distributor and I suspect your sales would boom.


Oh Please !, 6/20/2009
Reviewer: Richard from Palo Alto, CA
We visited Spoon yesterday and found the "gelato" pasty and the staff not very helpful when we asked who made their product. Later we happened on the another place recommended by a kid at our hotel that he said they make their own right in the store...it's called Scoops in Montecito. I talked with the owner and told him aout this place. He was very open about how they use fresh fruit from farmer;s market in their sorbets and their gelato is authentic in Italian style. The owner would not say anything negative about spoon but it's obvious which is better when you taste Scoops flavors.


Tied With Best Gelato Outside Italy, 4/15/2009
Reviewer: Robert Bernstein from Santa Barbara, CA
Only one other place in the US has gelato as good as this (Steps of Rome in North Beach in SF). It is as good as any gelato I had in Tuscany. Yes, it is a bit expensive. But I can understand why. Most of what passes for "gelato" is just mediocre ice cream served in some flashy way. What makes Spoon special? The intensity and quality of the flavor is the main thing for me. The fact that you can close your eyes and know what that flavor is. Try that with most places! The quality and the service go together here. Owner Erin has a passion for this business: She works with her Italian craftsman partner in designing the flavors and finding the very best ingredients. She’ll guide you to a new flavor and you’ll be carried to an intense experience that is memorable. They want you to be truly satisfied. If it means sampling every single flavor or getting a bit of several different flavors in one little bowl, they are happy if you are happy. My only concern is that when people discover how amazing this place is, I won't be able to get in anymore!


AWESOME, 4/13/2009
Reviewer: Rian from Santa Barbara, CA
Super small shop BUT super awesome taste! Wonderful variety, Wonderful staff! Cant get enough!!


ADDICTED!!!, 4/11/2009
Reviewer: Stacey from Santa Barbara, CA
I am literally scared to be around Spoon, because I can't resist it!!! Great service, amazing Gelato. The flavors are to die for. Its about $4 for a small, but WELL worth it. Spoon is next door the the State St. location of Saigon In and Out...the two together= great dining experience!


AMAZING BUT... , 3/24/2009
Reviewer: Barbara from Santa Barbara, CA
I love Spoon! Its fantastic although I went in there recently and i was saddened by the fact that this very pretty nice girl, I think she was hawaiian was no longer working there! I miss her, she was very kind and patient with an old lady like myself. But good job Spoon


Homerun again!, 3/19/2009
Reviewer: Gwyneth from Santa Barbara, CA
Homerun once again Erin! The Amaretto is especially good this week and the strawberry is phenominal! Cheers!


Very Good!, 3/2/2009
Reviewer: Glenn from Buellton
Wow is all I can say. The flavors are amazing. Probably the size that you would get is dependent on the size you pay for as they have multiples sizes and if you get a big cone expect a lot of gelato(which means "frozen" in Italian and refers to Italian type ice cream which is much denser than typical ice cream and has more richer ingredients). The blueberry pomegranite was great along with other fruit flavors. You can ask for a "mix" to try two flavors at once also. Nice lady behind the counter, I would suggest getting it to go after seeing a show at the Granada as its right next door.


Small portions, 2/15/2009
Reviewer: Jimmy from Santa Barbara, CA
The first time I came here it was great but recently recieved a small portion. I guess they changed the policy due to the economic downturn


Delicious! , 2/4/2009
Reviewer: Huyen from Santa Barbara, CA
I try to go as much as possible..my favorites are the Hazelnut, and Orange (don't know the Italian name). Excited to try the Pomogranate blueberry, and all the other yummies! Gimme a waffle cone, and I'm one happy lady!


Outstanding - I'm addicted!!, 1/20/2009
Reviewer: Gwyneth from Santa Barbara, CA
Spoon is amazing! Fantastic service, fantastic gellato, fair price for an outstanding product - I'm completely addicted. We go AT LEAST once a week. Thanks Erin!!! (Try the Ammaretto, it's AMAZING!)


So yummy!, 1/8/2009
Reviewer: Lorraine Wood from Santa Barbara, CA
The variety of flavors is excellent, the taste is divine, and the service is great. A little pricey, but worth it for an occasional treat!


OMG !!!, 1/5/2009
Reviewer: Sharon Remacle from Santa Barbara, CA
This place is awesome. The service was amazing. With so many flavors it is hard to pick just one. Thanks for being open on New Year's Eve!! Yummy.


I'm drooling just thinking about it, 12/8/2008
Reviewer: Julia from Santa Barbara, CA
Wow. Amazing. Enough said. I can't wait to go back and get more of the magnificence that is Spoon's gelato.


Yummy x10000000000, 12/4/2008
Reviewer: Linda from Santa Barbara, CA
I go almost every day!!! YUM YUM YUMMMMMMMMMMM


Have they improved 100%?, 10/13/2008
Reviewer: Jinelle from Santa Barbara, CA
Amazed at the string of good reviews as my experience was totally lack-luster. I'll give them another try and report back. If it is not great and I am an expert here after living in Italy for years, I'll let you all know. No tables, crummy presentation and non-recyclable containers and spoons. I dunno.


Excellent!, 10/12/2008
Reviewer: Laura from Santa Barbara, CA
I tried Spoon for the first time and was very pleasantly surprised. I was shocked that they were still open at 10:00 on a Thursday night, but I'm very glad they were. The owner was behind the counter and was extremely helpful; she let us try as many flavors as we wanted and then gave us great recommendations on what went well together. They have a great assortment of unique flavors that other places wouldn't serve (ex: olive oil and chocolate habanero). It was delicious and I will definitely be going back!


delicious, but pricey, 9/28/2008
Reviewer: chee from Santa Barbara, CA
Spoon is a wonderful place to get some good quality gelato. All of the flavors that I tried (e.g., hazelnut, strawberry, yogurt, pistachio) were intensely flavored and not overly sweet. the lady behind the counter was nice and let me and my friend try out a few flavors. she also provided us with some nice recommendations about flavor pairings. my friend and I were both a bit shocked by the pricing ($5 for a medium, which was still quite small), but I think the gelato's definitely worth the monetary indulgence if you have the means and/or want to treat yourself to something luxurious. sadly, there wasn't any seating inside or outside of the store, so my friend and I needed to perch in a random place on the street to enjoy our icy treat.


Heaven on a Spoon , 8/27/2008
Reviewer: Lora from Santa Barbara, CA
The hazelnut gelato was delightful with the rich flavor of toasted hazelnuts, not too sweet, but absolutely perfect. Ultimately, I went for a small cup of the Honey Fig Marscapone, and am still swooning. Bits of fig in a well balanced, rich-yet-not-overpowering gelato. First time customer, but I will be back.


Insanely good!, 8/8/2008
Reviewer: Amanda from Santa Barbara, CA
Oh my word! We went here for dessert with friends and we were so impressed! The gelato is amazing. We could barely decide after testing them all because each was amazing in its own way. We will definitely be back!!!


Amazing Gelato, Fantastic Service., 7/12/2008
Reviewer: Kristen from Santa Barbara, CA
We dropped by here last night after a great meal at Saigon In and Out a couple doors down, and though they were closing they let us in anyway. The woman working behind the counter was super nice, didn't rush us at all, and let us try almost everything. It was so hard to choose, they were all so good. The amaretto was my favorite, so rich. We'll definitely be back!


A tasty treat, 7/11/2008
Reviewer: Jonathan from Santa Barbara, CA
I went to Spoon tonight for the first time. The gelato was amazing and everyone who works there were super nice. I hope it stays hot in Santa Barbara so I have an excuse to go there all the time.


Good gelato with a side of good service, 7/11/2008
Reviewer: Chelle from Santa Barbara
I have been to Spoon about seven times in the last month and they always keep me coming back for more. First and most importantly the gelato is absolutely wonderful with a variety of flavors that they routinely rotate through. I especially like that the gelato is always infused with the flavor it represents, banana takes like a heaping helping of sweet ripe bananas; strawberry reminds you of biting in to fresh picked berries and the more complex flavors don’t disappoint either. My personal favorite is mas café, a hazelnut base with ribbons of coffee and chocolate flavors. Additionally this place has what many in Santa Barbara lack, good service. The girls are always pleasant and very helpful, offering as many samples as necessary to find your perfect match. You never feel rushed or pressured to settle for anything, they actually encourage you to find the flavor that feels right for you even offering little bits of background on the flavors you sample. I even found out that you can choose two flavors in your medium cup and three in your large so if you are torn, like I frequently am, you can have the combination that suits you the best. Overall it’s a great place with quality products and very pleasant service.


I'm worried... This is seriously divine, 6/19/2008
Reviewer: Arlene from Santa Barbara
Went in today for the first time - they weren't even open yet, but still served us! Nice, patient - I tried 5 before deciding!-and this is amazingly good stuff. I am worried. Too close to my work. I will have to exercise great restraint not to go every day!!!!


Can't get enough..., 6/3/2008
Reviewer: Lisa from Santa Barbara
Love this place...! So far every flavor is delicious and unique, the decor is so cute (and clean), and the service is friendly and generous with the tasters! Great addition to S.B..


Wonderful Place, 5/25/2008
Reviewer: Nicole from SB, CA
The service was very good and friendly. The gelato was flavorful, rich and just sweet enough. I hear gelato-cookie sandwiches are in store for the future!


Awesome!!, 5/23/2008
Reviewer: Yvette from Santa Barbara, Ca
They are sooo good. I was really impressed by the different variety of gelatos. All of them are great I couldn't decide which one to get. The cute outfits and the decor just set the tone for a great experince at Spoons.


Absoluteley Wonnnnnderful!!!!!, 5/9/2008
Reviewer: Lynn from Carpinteria, CA
My boyfriend and I have been in there 4 times since they opened about 2 weeks ago! The place is so adorable,what a fabulous job they did on the decor! The Gilato is incredible! I was really surprised to see how many healthy, delicious options they have! From mango to berry to pomigranite-absolutely fabulous and great prices too for such high quality product. My favorite is mixing a cream based with a berry/iced based, it is an addiction!


Have you eaten here? Write a review of this location!  Terms of Service