Santa Barbara International Film Festival

The Santa Barbara International Film Festival (SBIFF) is an eleven-day film festival held in Santa Barbara, California since 1986. The festival screens over 200 films, including feature films and short films, from different countries and regions. Besides screenings, the festival also contains different sections, including celebrity tributes, industry panels and education programs. Santa Barbara International Film Festival tries to shines a light on independent and ethnic film-makers. In the past, Roger Durling saved a third of his festival's slots to films by Hispanic filmmakers in order to better represent Latino population in the area. Durling also decided to add nature films.

Videos from the red carpet


The Santa Barbara International Film Festival (SBIFF) is a 501(c)(3) non-profit arts and educational organization. Over the past three decades, SBIFF has become one of the leading film festivals in the United States – attracting 90,000 attendees and offering 11 days of 200+ films, tributes and panels, fulfilling their mission to engage, enrich, and inspire people through the power of film. We celebrate the art of cinema and provide impactful educational experiences for our local, national and global communities.

SBIFF continues its commitment to education and the community through out many free educational programs and events. SBIFF entered a new era with the acquisition of the historic and beloved Riviera Theatre. After a capital campaign and renovation, the theatre is now SBIFF’s new state-of-the-art, year-round home, showing new international and independent films every day. SBIFF also opened its own Education Center in downtown Santa Barbara on State Street to serve as a hub for creativity and learning.

One feature of the film festival is the 10-10-10 competition. Students currently enrolled at Santa Barbara area high schools and colleges are invited to submit either a 10-page sample of writing for the Screenwriting portion of the competition, or a five-minute sample of their best filmmaking efforts for the directing portion. Ten writers are selected to write one 10-minute script each; the scripts are then matched with the ten filmmakers. Those students then have ten days to shoot and edit the completed ten-minute short film, during the ten days of the festival. Films are screened and winners are announced on closing night.

Leonardo DiCaprio

Clint Eastwood

Daniel Day Lewis and Sally Field

Oprah Winfrey

Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt

Christopher Lloyd

Alexa Vega

Cate Blanchette

Amy Adams

Ben Affleck and Matt Damon

Kristin Scott Thomas

Ben Affleck

Kevin Spacey

Hal Holbrook

Jared Leto

Forest Whitaker

Maggie Grace

Leonardo DiCaprio

Johnny Depp

Mickey Rourke

Sylvester Stallone

Abigail Breslin

Kate Winslet

Jennifer Lawrence

Penelope Cruz

Sandra Bullock

Ralph Fiennes

Robert Redford

Noah Wyle

Sean Penn and Leonard Maltin

Owen Pearce and William Baldwin

Jonah Hill, Martin Scorsese, and Leonardo DiCaprio

Ralph Macchio

Carl Weathers

Francis Ford Coppola