Bill Wathen and Dick Doré (also known as the "Foxen Boys") have been making wine together since 1985, when they founded Foxen at the historic Rancho Tinaquaic in northern Santa Barbara County. Since that time, their dedication has remained the same - the creation of very small production, sustainably-farmed, vineyard-focused wines using a "minimalist" approach to winemaking.
The winery was named in memory of William Benjamin Foxen, an English sea captain and Dick's great-great grandfather, who came to Santa Barbara in the early 1800's. In 1837, this Santa Barbara County pioneer purchased the Rancho Tinaquaic, a Mexican Land Grant that originally totaled nearly 9000 acres and comprised most of what is now known as Foxen Canyon. Captain Foxen adopted the distinctive "anchor" as his ranch cattle brand, which has become a trademark of the winery. It is very fitting that Foxen has made its home on the 2000-acre Rancho Tinaquaic, which remains in family hands.
With the completion of Foxen's solar-powered winery and tasting room in 2009, the historic and beloved "tasting shack" was renamed "Foxen 7200," where Bill and Dick now feature their Bordeaux and Cal-Ital-style wines, under a newly designed label. Foxen Pinot Noirs, Chardonnays and Rhône-style wines are showcased in the new solar-powered tasting room at 7600 Foxen Canyon Road. Both tasting rooms are open daily.